5000 Bayelsa APC Members Return To PDP

Yenagoa – Membership of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Bayelsa State have further depleted ahead of the 2019 general elections as some of its chieftains and their 5,000 supporters returned to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state.
Governor Seriake Dickson, who received the defectors on Thursday at the PDP Secretariat in Yenagoa said only the PDP possesses the political credentials to win elections in Bayelsa.
Among the APC chieftains who abandoned the party for the PDP are staunch allies of former Governor Timipre Sylva, who is the leader of the APC in the state.
They include Stephen Ogullah and Fred Nyanayo, former Commissioners for Finance and Transport; Vivian Ere-Imananagha, Johnson Alalibo and O. O Osusu, former members of the state House of Assembly; Michael Amaegberi, former Special Adviser on Economic Matters; Love Amaseimogha, former Commissioner in the Civil Service Commission; S. B Odi, former Chairman of Sagbama LGA; Woyengikuro Inieyeri, former Chairman of Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA and John Ebikake, former Chairman of Ekeremor LGA.
Dickson said the PDP government in Bayelsa under his watch had placed the state on the path of peace, prosperity and development, adding that the people were happy with the party.
He said any politician who is deceived into contesting in 2019 general elections on the platform of the APC would fail abysmally because only the PDP could win elections in the state.
The Governor called for more support for the party leadership and assured that the PDP would create a level-playing field for all aspirants to vie for political offices.
He said, “The PDP is the only party that has a developmental agenda for the Ijaw people.
“What we do in PDP is to strategize to win elections, and after elections we work for the development of our people because we are in politics to serve our people.
“The other party comes to kill our people because they lack the vision, they have no agenda for our people except to destroy what our founding fathers have built and what our restoration government is onsolidating. Except us, no person, nobody in the South-South in any party had won election under the ruling APC.
“We were the first to win election in the South-South under the Muhammadu Buhari Presidency. Any person who is deceived to contest election in 2019 on another platform other than PDP will still lose because only PDP can win election in Bayelsa State.”
Dickson continued: “I am very grateful to all our brothers and sisters for taking the decision to return but, while you were away our party became very cohesive and strong with order and discipline. So, watch out for those who want to divide you and give encouragement and sow seed of discord.
“On behalf of your government and the leadership of the PDP, we promise all of you a level-playing ground and fair play. You are welcome back home to your party.”
The Governor advised that none of the returnee leaders should suffer any loss of prestige or seniority, stressing that all of them should be incorporated into the appropriate organs of the PDP at all levels.
Also speaking at the event, Moses Cleopas, State Chairman of the PDP, said only his party has the capacity to defeat what he termed federal might as it happened in 2015/2016 when Governor Dickson won re-election.
He said that in 2019 the PDP would re-enact its winning streak by sweeping the elections against every odds that might stand in the way.
Fynman Wilson, Special Adviser on Political Matters to the Governor, said he and the PDP family in the state are working hard to mop-up the remnants of the remaining tiny opposition in the state back to the PDP.

No comments

Sign in. Enter your Google Account email or phone number and password. Then Open The Blog Post And Comment With Responsive Browsers. i.e Google Chrome.

Disclaimer: Every member is solely responsible for anything that he/she comments.

Powered by Blogger.